Car Supremacist Watch: The Fucking Atlantic Ocean

Posted on February 28, 2011

1


Given that North American car driving habits, among other things, threaten to dump an entire Greenland worth of freshwater into it, you would think that the broad Atlantic would be a bit more supportive of my efforts to use alternative transportation. Alas, ol’ Poseidon has instead decided to send a blizzard to bury Halifax on the same afternoon that I have to get to French class, leaving me with no choice but to bike through this:

Meanwhile, the SUV drivers who pose such a huge threat to the health of the weather systems that created this blizzard get to sit comfortably in their metal boxes with windshields and seat warmers.

The ingratitude of it all is disgusting.

UPDATE 9:42 PM: The blizzard pulled a Halifax and turned into a rainstorm while I was in French class. I had no choice but to ride home through a torrential downpour and a big pile of melting snow. I was displeased to see that the streets I was so accustomed to biking on had been replaced by rivers. The steeper streets would be better qualified as waterfalls. I never knew my bike could be ridden against the current through half a foot of flowing water.

